A Few Days in Bangkok

A restaurant near the Santa Cruz Church

A restaurant near the Santa Cruz Church

I am a little sun-stroked and tired out today, so a few photos of Bangkok now, and a few further words on my adventures, perhaps tomorrow.

I will say now, the title of my post is a bit of a misnomer, I originally had intended to write an account of a few days in this city (and I still do), but of all of my favorite pictures that I decided to post now, are pictures just from this morning. I do have a delightful story of my arrival in Bangkok, but these photos prove why I love Bangkok so much. I can walk down the same street three times and see something different each time. Today, I wandered for almost six hours, near to places I have been before, and I didn’t pay a baht (except for the ferry, which is three baht each way), and I saw things I’ve never seen before in Bangkok. Within one special area, which took about ten minutes to walk through, I saw a Buddhist temple (or five, let’s be honest, it is Bangkok), a Muslim mosque, a Christian church, and a Chinese shrine. I was happy to see so many faiths in one small area, perhaps, they know something about getting along that the rest of the world should know too? I think the world, in general, everywhere, should stop worrying about our differences and start celebrating our  similarities. Anyway, each building was glorious and well looked after in its own way. Each building was worthy of  my curious intrusion, and each building had at least one guard to give me the once over as I passed through the gates with my camera. I always ask first, if I’m not sure. I am not religious in any way, and I do not support any one belief over another, but I do love history, art, and architecture. Most religions have cultivated, influenced, and spearheaded these loves of mine, so as a result, I am always looking at religious buildings and artifacts. I am unbiased when looking at a building. I love all buildings the same. I love all art the same. I love all history the same. I am not biased. Some of the worst and best parts of history have been made because of religions, their  intentions, their crazies, and their beliefs, and  as such, have  created some of  the most lasting images, art, and some of the most cherished places worth visiting.

So I said more than I thought I had in me, tomorrow  I promise a funny-ish tale of Bangkok.

Origami cranes  found in a tree on the boardwalk on Chao Phraya River

Origami cranes found in a tree on the boardwalk on Chao Phraya River

Santa Cruz Church

Santa Cruz Church

My new friend

My new friend

Wat Arun

Wat Arun

The Elephant Traffic Circle

The Elephant Traffic Circle

Image

I know they are not ravens, but I was feeling very Edgar Allen Poe this moment

Image

I can cross, I cannot cross… But to be clear with the ticket to cross for day, this day you must no cross. Yes?

Long-tailed boats on the Chao Phraya River

Long-tailed boats on the Chao Phraya River

Image

This dude’s berserker face scares me

The god's have been knitting?

The god’s have been knitting?

paper lanterns outside Wat Arun

Paper lanterns outside Wat Arun

Silly garden ornaments

Silly garden ornaments

View of Wat Phra Viharn

View of Wat Phra Viharn

Wat Arun

Wat Arun

Ton Son Mosque

Ton Son Mosque

Bangkok Yai Canal

Bangkok Yai Canal

Wat Kanlayanamit Woramahawihan

Wat Kanlayanamit Woramahawihan

Same complex as Wat Kanlayanamit Woramahawihan

Same complex as Wat Kanlayanamit Woramahawihan
 Wat Kanlayanamit Woramahawihan

Wat Kanlayanamit Woramahawihan

Leave a Reply

