Beauty in the Beast

Image

My visit to Singapore was short and not entirely enjoyable. Despite my high expectations for the city state, I found myself disappointed from the moment I arrived. I had read about the history, culture, and food before my visit and I was expecting something different than the flashy, snooty, rat race of a country I found. I think my disappointment came from my expectations and my poor choice of hotel in the sleazy neighborhood of Geylang. I’ve had time to reflect and I now use this experience to remind myself that part of traveling, or any event in life, is about appreciating the experience for what it is, not what I wanted it to be.

That said, I did spend an absolutely lovely day at the free Singapore Botanic Gardens. I even splurged and paid the $5 for admission to the Orchid Garden. I passed almost an entire day walking around, smelling flowers, admiring the black swans and other animals, and ducking out of the brief thundershowers into the restaurant to eat a piece of delicious, but overpriced, carrot cake. If you are in Singapore and need a mental pick me up, this is the place to come.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

7 thoughts on “Beauty in the Beast

Leave a Reply

